A mixed bag and a trip to Abertawe – part three in my 30 Day FOSS Challenge

Enjoying some sunshine in Abertawe/Swansea

Last week I set myself some challenges. The idea was to shift towards using free and open source software (FOSS) more, by taking some ‘baby steps’. (If you’re starting here, check out part one and part two.)

Week two – how did I get on?

These were my ‘rules’ for last week and my scores out of 5 (in terms of how much progress I made, not how good the experience was):

1. Use Signal first for messaging, whenever I can.

Some success here with messaging a couple of close contacts who I used to speak to on Telegram. However, most of my messaging tends to be in groups, either on WhatsApp or Telegram. Shifting those groups to Signal didn’t feel like an easy win of the kind I planned for the week. I also tried to persuade a close friend to use it but he didn’t want to.

Score: 3/5.

2. Use only Organic Maps and OpenStreetMap for mapping.

Navigating Abertawe with Organic Maps

I did pretty well with this one. The main need for mapping was navigating my way to Abertawe/Swansea for a day out with my daughter. For this, Organic Maps worked well. It felt faster than Google Maps and I think some of this was down to the way it downloads entire maps and then uses them effectively ‘offline’.

One difference (compared to Google Maps) I had to get used to was the way it handles navigation between two points if you’re not already at one of them. Not a big deal though and I had some advice from the OM team and others via Mastodon.

Back in Caerdydd/Cardiff, I couldn’t find a shop that had recently moved within the city. Having found it, I thought I’d set up an OpenStreetMap account and edit it. What I discovered was that the new location was already on OSM, but that update hadn’t yet found its way to Organic Maps.

Back at home, I ran into trouble with OSM on the web. I was trying to find a business address but it wasn’t showing up, even with the postcode. I must admit I resorted to Google Maps for this, which found it straight away. I suspect part of the problem was that the business hadn’t give a street name as part of their address.

The other thing I missed with Organic Maps was lack of public transport information for Cardiff. I used the bus operator’s own app, rather than Google Maps, for a short work trip across town.

Score: 4/5.

3. Try out FOSS alternatives for listening to podcasts and reading news

NetNewsWire app on the iPhone

This worked out well. I’d intended to try AntennaPod, as recommended by others, to listen to podcasts. Having found it is Android-only, I seached on AlternativeTo for an open source iOS client. Guess what? I found my current app, Pocket Casts, is already open source. Job done.

Next I looked at reading news. I normally use Feedly, which is a nice app. Was there an open source alternative? Again, AlternativeTo suggested several and I went with one that was familiar from when I used it many, many years ago: NetNewsWire. It was easy to export my Feedly feeds and import them into the iOS app for NetNewsWire. The experience so far has been great. It feels really fast and easy to use. The only missing element is syncing between the mobile app and desktop PC – you can set this up though so I might try it out, or at least try out the desktop app.

Score: 5/5.

4. Try out Matrix for messaging

Success. Well I installed the Element app for Matrix, eventually. I had a few problems trying to sign in – it seems I already had a Matrix account I’d forgotten about and it wasn’t that easy to regain access. Once set up, I joined the 30 Day FOSS challenge group and engaged a little in the conversation. Matrix and Element seem to work OK. I was drawn to trying it out because of the decentralised nature of Matrix. But so far I’ve only dipped my toe in the water and don’t feel I can assess it properly.

Score:4/5.

Week two conclusions

Swansea marina

It felt like a pretty good week.

I’m happy to carry on with Organic Maps and OSM, as they’re great systems and although not perfect there are generally work-arounds.

I’m also really happy with NetNewsWire so will continue with that. It still feels like early days for Element/Matrix, but I’m not sure yet if I have a use for them! As for Signal, I may try ‘encouraging’ some others to switch.


Plans for week three

These are my rules/aims for the week ahead:

  1. Build on what I’ve started – set up NetNewsWire for desktop and try out editing/contributing on OpenStreetMap now I have an account (if I spot an edit that needs making). Also set up Matrix on desktop and learn more about it. I’ll try and convince a couple of friends to join Signal.
  2. Try out a FOSS notes app as an alternative to Apple Notes
  3. Try out listening to music and watching videos using FOSS alternatives
  4. Get some advice from a friend. I’m planning to meet Dave this week and I’m sure he’ll have some good suggestions.

On that last point, I’m something of a Youtube addict. I know a lot of brilliant creators who I love aren’t found on FOSS platforms, but let’s see what happens! Maybe I can even go a day or more without Youtube…

More updates next week on the blog, or follow me on Mastodon. Also many thanks to Nix and Dave Clubb plus others for their support.

Ynghylch Richard Nosworthy

Gic, Cenedlaetholwr, Sosialydd
Cafod y cofnod ei gyhoeddi yn 30 Day FOSS Challenge a'i dagio yn . Gosod Nod Tudalen i'r ddolen barhaol.

Un Ymateb i A mixed bag and a trip to Abertawe – part three in my 30 Day FOSS Challenge

  1. Hysbysiad: A more tricky week and a walk in the woods – part four in my 30 Day FOSS Challenge | NosBlog

Gadael sylw