A more tricky week and a walk in the woods – part four in my 30 Day FOSS Challenge

Looking back on my last post, I feel I’ve not made much progress since then! But I’ve made a start on a few switches to open-source alternatives. They probably just need more time…

A free and open source walk in the woods.

So last time I set some more challenges in using new and existing open-source applications. Here’s how I got on.

Build on what I’ve started

My aims were to:

“…set up NetNewsWire for desktop and try out editing/contributing on OpenStreetMap now I have an account (if I spot an edit that needs making). Also set up Matrix on desktop and learn more about it. I’ll try and convince a couple of friends to join Signal.”

  • NetNewsWire: OK, this has been a failure. I haven’t felt any need to set up NetNewsWire for desktop yet as almost all my RSS reading is on mobile. I’ve realised that I’d also need to spend a bit of time setting up sync to get the most out of it. I had thought I’d need to do something complicated like set up Fresh RSS, but I see that there is an option to use iCloud! So maybe I will get round to that.
  • OpenStreetMap: haven’t spotted anything that needs editing this week.
  • Matrix: I haven’t identified a strong need to use it this last week, other than checking the 30 Day FOSS Challenge discussion. The more I think about it, the more I feel that Signal has me covered in terms of messaging for now.
  • Signal: Have just invited one friend to join. But it feels awkward asking those less technically-minded.

So overall, not much progress yet. What I did do though was continue using Organic Maps. I really like this app, which uses OpenStreetMap data.

Checking my location on Organic Maps in the woods on the edge of Cardiff
Bridge over the former railway line running west of Coryton, Cardiff

I tested the app again, this time both by driving and using a more ‘rural’ location. The turn-by-turn driving directions were fast and clear with an American English voice (I’ve not checked if you can change this to Cymraeg or Welsh/British English). The only downside was that – like other navigation apps – it kept trying to send me down side-streets as presumably these offered a shorter – albeit awkward – route.

On arrival at the woods (at the Forest Farm nature reserve) it was a gorgeous spring morning. Organic Maps did a great job of displaying the web of footpaths and I found a new (for me) route along the abandoned railway just west of the current station at Coryton. There didn’t seem to be a satellite view available but that wasn’t really a problem. I can see this app being great if you were out in the sticks with no internet. Although I did actually have a strong 5G signal here because it’s really just a wooded part of the city.

A beautfully FOSSy spring morning

Another issue with Organic Maps seems to be a by-product of its lightning-fast ‘download maps as you need them’ model. Searching for a botanic garden in France, it didn’t appear until I’d gone and found the region it was in and then downloaded the map for that region. So not a big deal but something to be aware of.

Try out a FOSS notes app as an alternative to Apple Notes

Last week I met up with my friend Dave Clubb for a geeky chat. He showed me his Linux phones and then I mentioned the 30 Day FOSS Challenge. Logseq was his suggestion for a notes-type app and he explained its many functions. It’s certainly impressive, but I realised that it didn’t really suit my needs right now, which is simply to replace my simple use of Apple Notes on my iPhone. It felt a bit like overkill for shopping lists, what CDs I want to buy, recipes etc.

Searching online, I found Joplin. I’d used the app before on an old phone and it seems to fit the bill: free, open source and user-friendly. I’ve installed it but ran in to the challenge of moving my 100+ Apple notes across. You’d think it’d be simple, but it isn’t. Check out this Reddit discussion. So I still have some work to do there.

Try out listening to music and watching videos using FOSS alternatives

I’m a bit of a Youtube addict. I put out a call for suggestions on Mastodon, asking how I can find a FOSS alternative. But there doesn’t seem to a be a great one in terms of the wealth of content.

Undeterred, I checked out some video on Peertube. Dave mentioned he uses the urbanists.video instance of Peertube, which hosts stuff about urbanism. I quickly found this great video about cycling in New York.

I have requested an account so I can comment etc but it hasn’t registered yet. First impressions of Peertube are good. Video playback was very high quality and there are no ads. I easily subscribed using my RSS reader (so that will work even while I’m waiting for a Peertube account.

There were some problems. I was pleased to see you can download videos, but when I downloaded to my iPhone, I couldn’t find where the file was stored. Any suggestions? Also I like to watch Youtube on my TV via Chromecast – how can I get this sort of experience for Peertube?

As for listening to music, no luck yet. There are several FOSS options but all I need is a simple mp3 player for iOS, ideally with the ability to sync with my Mac. And the ones I’ve seen all seem to be set up as self-hosted streaming services. TBH I’m OK with using the Apple music app to manage my mp3 library, but a FOSS alternative would be nice.

Get some advice from a friend

As mentioned above, I met Dave and many thanks to him for all his advice. We didn’t manage to work out how to embed toots from Mastodon properly on WordPress.com though! Any ideas?

Plans for the final week

I’ve got a pretty busy week so I’ll keep it simple…

  • Set up NetNewsWire on desktop and set up syncing via iCloud (yes I know that’s not true FOSS but it’s a step in the right direction)
  • Move my Apple notes to Joplin and set up cloud sync
  • Try some FOSS games (recommendations?)
  • Anything else I fancy doing

Oh, and I’ll also write up my final thoughts of the challenge!

Ynghylch Richard Nosworthy

Gic, Cenedlaetholwr, Sosialydd
Cafod y cofnod ei gyhoeddi yn 30 Day FOSS Challenge a'i dagio yn . Gosod Nod Tudalen i'r ddolen barhaol.

Gadael sylw